Moab

A few years back I went to a place called Moab, which is about 4 hours south of Salt Lake City, Utah. It was shortly after my 19th birthday and I was wanting to go on a trip. My parents were heading off to Alaska and it was safe to say I was not going with them. They had good cause for not taking me, which is a story all in itself, but I wanted to go do something, so I chose Moab.

I set off during the week, like a Wednesday, and drove down and checked in at a local hotel. (I cannot say it was the best, but it was cheap and fit my needs.) I then set out to discover both Arches National Park, and Canyon Lands National Park. These places are some of the biggest attractions the country has. You will meet people from all over the world, so don’t be surprised if you hear some Russian, and see some Australian’s all in the same day!

I will first talk about Canyon Lands, due to fact I spent the least time there so I have less to say about it, but it is some absolutely amazing country. To get there you head down the 191 like you are going to Arches National Park, and you will see a turn off to the 313 and follow that for a ways. Don’t be a surprised it takes a while, its a long road. After a ways you will see the turn off for Island in the Sky Road which turns into Grand View Point Road.

Well enough with directions and onto locations. While I was there I went on a few hikes, I did go to Half Dome, Mesa Arch, Green River Look Out and last but not least the Grand View. I liked the Grand View the most, so I am going to spend a few minutes talking about that.

Its amazing, this picture I have above cannot and will never be able to do due justice of what the Grand Look out is like. This is not from the end of it either. This is at the beginning of the trail. It’s about a mile out, which only takes 20 minutes or so, to walk to get the greatest view of your life. I forget what it is called but its the “grand” Grand Look out of the park. You follow this trail out on the spine of the plateau and hop onto these rocks that are at the very end. In front of you is the point were the two rivers, the Green River and the Colorado meet. The view is breath taking. You can see the curvature of the earth from up there. I tried taking a panorama with my camera, but it was too big. It is unlike anything I have ever seen before or sense.

While I was there I spent a few minutes contemplating about the creation that God had set before me. Even if you are not a individual who believes in God, this is a spiritual place. Its silent, and the only sound you can hear is the wind. A perfect place to meditate and to relax. If you are in desperate need of that, go here. Its far enough out in the middle of know where for you to get away from it all, and still be close enough to society to go back and enjoy some night life at Moab.

One response to “Moab

Leave a Reply

