One Year of Blogging

On Angels LandingYup this is the week where I can officially say I have been blogging for a year. It has been an interesting adventure learning how to write, how to present images, and how to get people to come to my site and look around. I have had the opportunity to write for Trails 360 and for my school news paper. Thank you to all who have made it an amazing year and no doubt many more years to come.

Well I don’t want to make this post all about “Hey this has been a great year… Goodbye.” So in honor of going strong, I want to create a list of my 10 most favorite hikes of 2012. So lets get this started.

10-Calf Creek Falls– This is an amazing hike located right out side ofIMG_0255 Escalante Utah. I have been going here for years now and it will always have a place in my heart as being one of my first big adventures as an early teen, and as consistent adventure as I get older. Check it out, and if you go in late spring early summer you may see me there with my new fiance.

9-Kannaraville Falls– This hike for some unknown reason shot my blog to the front page of Google, but I am not complaining. I have had two great experience here, and one of them involved a solar eclipse. This is a relatively unknown hike, so check it out and go someplace that none of your friends have.

8-Hidden Canyon– Talk about a hike that has it all. Waterfalls at the beginning, high cliffs in the middle and a slot canyon that seems to go on forever. Located in the heart of Zion National Park, if you have not gone on this hike, you are missing a part of Zion.

Fifth Water7- Fifth Water Hot Springs– This hike, although not here in Southern Utah, was an amazing experience.  It was fun from beginning to end. It began with a hilarious story of my friend being so sleep deprived he cannot complete a simple function but can still push it though to go chill in a hot spring in the end. You people up in Salt Lake (or anyone who might be in that region) need to go here on a Saturday and unwind a bit and relax.

6- Buckskin Gulch– The worlds longest slot canyon (I think it’s debated, but definitely the longest one I know of.) is a great place to take anyone. It is an exciting experience shimmying through some narrow slots, then heading down a canyon that brings a new surprise around every corner. But I did almost lose a pair of shoes here. We went through this puddle that smelled like deer (yeah deer smell kinda funky if you have never been around one). It took about 3 or 4 washes before they didn’t smell so bad I wanted to gag.

5- Red Cliffs– This is a hidden treasure that can be so easily skipped if you don’t go all the way. It has beautiful red rock, multiple waterfalls, and it is an adventure from beginning to end. I have some of my most fond memories with my friends and fiance here. Take your family and make some of your own.

4-Cedar Breaks– Well I know this post has mentioned my fiance a lot… Sorry I guess, but she has been a part of a lot of these, and this was the first. This was my first big date I took her on. But it is not only special for this reason. It is one of the most beautiful places you can visit, no matter your age. Once you get the park, you only have to walk 100 yards to be at the coolest places in the state of Utah.Cathedral Caves

3- Cathedral Caves– Yup this one is not even in Utah, but it might as well be. It is just across the border into Nevada, only an hour away from where I live currently. This is a park full of exploration. I want to go here once weather turns back to decent and go camping and explore some more. I bet there are a few more caves to go see and a few more new experiences to go be had. Check it out if your ever in Cedar City for a weekend, you will never ever regret it.

2-Observation Point– There is nothing quite like being at the grandest of grandest lookouts in Zion National Park. It is breath taking and challenging all in one. Relatively few people ever make it to this point, most of them give up half way or read that it is 8 miles round trip and never go, but once at the top it is worth the hike.

1- Angels Landing– Yup, the top two go to hikes in Zion National Park, but this one deserves everything. It has Angel's Landingexperiences you cannot get any other way. Few hikes in Zion have chains, and the others that do don’t have 1000 foot cliffs on both sides of you. You also get one of the most spectacular views you will ever experience.

That concludes my list of my 10 best hikes of the year. But I end this with a formal invitation. Come and experience southern Utah. It has 5 national parks, a national recreation area larger then Road Island, and probably Delaware put together. It has treasures hidden deep within canyons, it has the mind boggling heights, and stunning vistas. If you plan it right, you will never forget the adventures you will have here.

3 responses to “One Year of Blogging

  1. I could not believe that it has been a year of blogs already! I enjoyed your summary very much and truly hope that Jody and I and perhaps your folks will be able to do some of thes hikes one day! Great Job!

    • Hey that is awesome that you are based out of Utah too. If you are ever in southern Utah and want someone to go on a good hike with you guys, let me know!

Leave a Reply

