Horse Shoe Bend

I have finally been able to go to a few places I have been wanting to go for years.

Feel the anticipation!

But first I will talk about Horse Shoe Bend.

horseshoe bendI got a phone call from my dad a few days ago wanting to know if I wanted to go to the Lake Powell area and do a few hikes. I of course was always down for such a thing, so late Friday night I stole off into the night with my wife.

We arrived at Kanab that evening and camped the night in a nice little RV park about a third of a mile down highway 89 towards Page. I took the opportunity though to go out and take some night photography. The images can be viewed here.

After a brief nights rest we headed out towards Page, Arizona. Our plan for the day was to go to Antelope Canyon. (this is big deal by the way) Since we had an hour before our tour left, we headed  4 miles down highway 89 to Horse Shoe Bend (Denny’s is the reference point for that 4 miles)

The walk is about 3/4 of a mile across sandy terrain. It is not too bad, but a bit difficult at times. The view though is worth the bit of a walk.

Next week Antelope Canyon. Be prepared for some stunning photography.

2 responses to “Horse Shoe Bend

  1. I used to work as a river guide around Horseshoe Bend! I loved this article because of all the memories it brings back. Come check out our website at Rugged Utah for more local adventures!

Leave a Reply

