The Future of SUH

DCIM100GOPRO

I began this project about three years ago. I wanted to start a blog about hiking in Southern Utah. With it has come a few charity events, articles in college news papers, interactions with multiple websites, one magazine deal, and a whole lot of new friends.

But alas all things do come to an end.

Whether this one will or not is to be determined.

I graduated college today and will be leaving southern Utah. I am not sure where the winds will blow or whether they will keep me in Utah.

So with this let me recap my favorite hikes of all time.

1-Kanarraville Falls, Kanarraville Utah

Single handedly this hike brought my little blog from behind the curtains onto the main stage of the internet. It is short, sweet and wonderful. kanarraville trip (2 of 7)

2- The Subway, Zion National Park

One of the most impressive hikes I have ever done and filled with some of the most unique slot canyons. Absolutely wonderful and will be going back as soon as I can.

The Subway (7 of 17)

3- Antelope Canyon, Page Arizona

Located right across the border in Arizona is a spectacular slot canyon with some of the most photogenic passageways I know of. Though I do not like how commercialized it is, it is still a must see while you are in the area.

Antelope Canyon

Antelope Canyon

4- Coyote Gulch, Escalante Utah

Located in the middle of nowhere but in the middle of the most amazing places on earth. I plan to go back here one day and photograph for days. Maybe even do research. Who knows, we will see.

Coyote Gulch Bridge

5- Calf Creek Falls, Escalante Utah

A hike that in all reality started this all. It began much of my outdoor adventures in southern Utah. I will continue to do this hike as long as I can. It’s just too amazing not to go.

101_4927

6- Buckskin Gulch, middle of nowhere Utah

The longest and definitely one of the coolest hikes there is to do in Utah. Who doesn’t want to hike through endless miles of slot canyons. I know I do.

Buckskin Gulch

7-Queens Garden to Navajo Trail, Bryce Canyon National Park

“The worlds greatest 3 mile hike” is the slogan for this hike. It’s a darn good hike.

102_4857

8- Cedar Breaks, Cedar City Utah

Located high above Cedar City, this place holds a special place in my heart. I took my wife on my first big date/over night camp out here. I took one of my best and most favorite photos of all here. I love this place.

Cedar Breaks

9- The Narrows, Zion National Park

A hike visited by many, completed by few, and one that I would love to visit again and again for photographing.

The Narrows

10- Observation Point, Zion National Park

I have done this hike from two different ways. Both summer and winter.

IMG_9269

I will continue on photographing and exploring so if you want to keep seeing what I do follow me at my other website: https://standrephotography.wordpress.com/

If I find myself around in southern Utah and still going on hikes. I will guarantee that I will still be updating this. Keep in touch to see what lies ahead.

Thanks everyone for making this a success.

SUH logo art boards-06

2 responses to “The Future of SUH

  1. Thanks for the list and the blog. Going back to Southern Utah this summer and I appreciate the photos and recommendations.

Leave a Reply

